Vital Records (Birth, Death, Divorce, and Marriage Certificates)

About Us

The Prince William Health District - Office of Vital Records is located at 8470 Kao Circle, Manassas VA 20110. 

We are open for walk-in customers from Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Please note we will try to accommodate all requests after 4:00 p.m. Requests dropped off after 4:00 p.m. may be processed the next business day.

Customers may obtain an application for a vital record at the front desk.  Acceptable applications must have all required sections filled out including:

  • Requester’s signature.
  • Legible photocopy of the requester’s ID.

Customers may also use the Virginia Department of Health's Office of Vital Records new fully online system that will allow you to apply for a vital record, pay for it, and receive updates. For questions or general information, contact us at (703) 792-7327.

Vital records are available to you, and immediate family members only: mother, father, husband, wife, adult son or daughter, brother, sister, grandparents and adult grandchildren with valid identification.  Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, ex-spouses, etc. cannot obtain a vital record. A non- family member is entitled to obtain a vital record only if they have notarized Power of attorney. Birth records become public information after 100 years while death, marriage and divorce records after 25 years.

Birth Certificates

Death Certificates

Marriage Certificates

Divorce Certificates

Other Ways to Get Vital Records

Certified copies of Virginia vital records are available through Virginia’s Division of Vital Recordsand at full service Department of Motor Vehicles locations. 

If you born in another state Vital Records Across America can assist you with contact information for the state in which you were born.  There is an expedited service that you use called VitalChek.  You can reach them at 1.877.572.6333 option 2.  You will need a major credit card for this service.

Cost of a Vital Record

The Code of Virginia requires a cost of $12.00 per certificate/search. There is no refund if the certificate is not found.

An administration fee of $10.00 is charged for any change to a certificate.

Method of Payment: Can be made by check, money order, payment card, mobile pay, or cash. Checks and Money Orders should be completed, signed, and made payable to: Prince William Health District.

Webpage updated: 12/21/23