Primary Care Incentive Programs

Choose Virginia: A Healthy Place to Live and Work!

The Commonwealth of Virginia offers several incentive programs to attract primary health professionals to Virginia's underserved areas. These programs not only assist with paying down outstanding medical education debt but also afford individuals an opportunity to become part of a community and provide care to deserving populations.

Awards for all programs administered by the Virginia Department of Health are made on a competitive basis and limited to available funding. Priority for awards is given to candidates providing medical services in Virginia's most underserved areas.

Repayments are for the sole purpose of repaying outstanding educational loan debt secured while attending a program that led to licensure as a health professional.

Contact us

Virginia Primary Care Health Workforce Incentive Programs

Team & Contact Information

Manager Overseeing all Programs Olivette Burroughs, M.B.A., HCM, PHIC

Statewide Health Workforce Manager
Email: olivette.burroughs@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: 804-864-7431

Program Coordinators & Contacts
Mary Marshall Nursing Scholarship (LPN/RN/CNA)

 

 Long-Term Care Facility Nursing Scholarship (CNA)

Stacy Davis

Health Workforce Coordinator

Email: stacy.davis@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: 804- 659-3959

Nurse Practitioner/Nurse Midwife Nursing Scholarship

Nurse Educator Nursing Scholarship

Long-Term Care Facility Nursing Scholarship (LPN, RN)

Cassandra Braxton

Health Workforce Coordinator

Email: cassandra.braxton@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: 804-624-1915

Virginia Conrad 30 Waiver Program

 Virginia State Loan Repayment Program

NIW

HHS

ARC

 

Andrea Banks, J.M.

Health Workforce Coordinator

Email: andrea.banks@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: 804-864-7442

Virginia Behavioral Health Loan Repayment Program

 

Virginia Nurse Preceptor Incentive Program

 

Virginia Dental Loan Repayment Program

 

Kiara Christian

Health Workforce Coordinator

Email: kiara.christian@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 659-3952

Compliance & Follow-Up

All Programs verification of employment

 

 

Edward W. Cox, Jr.

Compliance & Follow-Up

Health Workforce Coordinator

Email: edward.cox@vdh.virginia.gov

incentiveprograms@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: 804-864-7419


Haben Yohannes

Health Workforce Coordinator

Email: haben.yohannes@vdh.virginia.gov

Phone: 804-489-6581

Mailing Address/Fax/Email 109 Governor Street Suite 714 west

Richmond, VA 23219-2448

Fax: 804.864.7440

Send routine VOEs/Correspondences to: incentiveprograms@vdh.virginia.gov

For more information about the Primary Care incentive programs offered by the VDH, OHE contact the Statewide Health Workforce Manager, Olivette Burroughs or send an email to olivette.burroughs@vdh.virginia.gov.