Mail It In

Due to the impacts of COVID-19 our processing times for applications through the mail are 8 weeks from the time they are received in the Office of Vital Records. If you need your records faster, you are strongly encouraged to utilize the Express Delivery option or to check for walk-in locations near you for current hours of operation. Our main office at 2001 Maywill St in Richmond, Virginia 23230 is operating our public lobby during the temporary extended hours of Monday - Friday 7:00 AM to 5:00PM. Our call center continues to operate on the regular schedule.

Office of Vital Records
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1000
General Information Number: 804-662-6200

The current turn around time is estimated to be 8 weeks for CERTIFIED VITAL RECORDS from the day the request is received IN THIS OFFICE. However, people are urged to allow sufficient time for delivery of all CERTIFIED VITAL RECORDS.

We encourage you to mail your certificate request to our office. We require a signed application, legible identification documentation and payment before we can process your order. Please include the following information for the respective requests:

Please include your return address and sign your request. 

Please click here to start an application for a vital record OR to request amendments/changes to an existing certificate.


Birth Certificate

Name at birth
Date of birth
Place of birth
Mother's Maiden name
Father's name
Relationship to the person on the certificate
Reason for the certificate
Area code + daytime phone
number

- Stillbirth Certificate

Death Certificate

Name of deceased
Date of death
Place of death
Relationship to the deceased
Reason for the certificate
Area code + daytime phone number

Marriage & Divorce Records

Name
Date of marriage/divorce
Place of marriage/divorce
Relationship to the person on the certificate
Reason for the certificate
Area code + daytime phone number

Please include your return address and sign your request.


Virginia statutes require a fee of $12.00 be charged each certification of a vital check record or for a search of the files when no certification is made. Please make check or money order payable to the State Health Department. There is a $50.00 service charge for returned checks. METHOD OF PAYMENT - CHECK or MONEY ORDER ONLY ( do not send CASH through the mail). PLEASE REMEMBER TO SIGN THE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.

For all birth records requiring no amendments/changes (adoptions, paternity establishment, name changes, etc.), and for all marriage records, divorce records, death records and non-automated birth records, please allow delivery time of 8 weeks from the date the request is received in this office.

For all documents that require amendments/changes (adoptions, paternity establishment, name changes, etc.), please allow our staff 12 weeks from the date the request is received in this office for the staff to respond to your request.

We are aggressively pursuing a program to get certificates to our clients as quickly as possible and we are working hard to reduce the turnaround time for automated searches.