Maternal & Child Health

Child Safety Car Seat Program | Blue Ridge Safe Sleep Crib Program | Improving Pregnancy Outcome (IPO) Workgroup


Child Safety Car Seat Program

What
Free car seats available to families who qualify. To receive a car seat, applicants attend a short class to learn the correct placement and use of the car seat.

For Whom
To apply, applicants must be:

  • Eligible for Medicaid ,WIC, FAMIS or qualify by income
  • Resident of Charlottesville, Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, or Nelson
  • Legal residents of Virginia
  • If pregnant, in the last three months of pregnancy 
  • Parent, legal guardian or foster parent 

Complete the application below and return to your local health department.

Application in English | Application in Spanish

Fees
None

Call
Charlottesville/Albemarle
Fluvanna
Greene
Louisa
Nelson

Links
For more information about child passenger safety, Virginia laws and other resources:
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/child-passenger-safety/

Short videos from Children’s Hospital  of Philadelphia review seat installation tips and safety for rear facing, forward facing and booster car seats.
English: Car Seat and Child Passenger Safety Videos | Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Spanish: https://www.chop.edu/video/car-seat-and-child-passenger-safety-videos-spanish

Safe Kid’s Ultimate Car Seat Guide – In English and Spanish
Use your child’s date of birth or due date and weight to learn about choosing and installing the right type of  car seat.
https://ucsg.safekids.org/

For detailed information about car seat safety, recalls and age related information:
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Car Seat Safety Tips | Safe Kids Worldwide


Blue Ridge Safe Sleep Crib Program

What
The Blue Ridge Safe Sleep Program is a community effort to educate parents and caregivers on the importance of safe sleep in the prevention of SIDS and SUID. A limited number of cribs are available by agency referral to households meeting income guidelines.

Cribettes are for babies under 1 year and weighing 30 pounds or less. The cribette has a bassinet attachment for babies under 15 pounds.

Eligibility

  • Be a parent, legal guardian, or foster parent of a child under the age of 1 year 
  • A resident of Charlottesville/Albemarle, Louisa, Greene, Nelson, or Fluvanna
  • Financially eligible or participating in Medicaid, WIC, SNAP, SSI or TANF 
  • Apply through a referring agency or through your local health department
  • Available for review of safe sleep guidelines and crib safety education session

Fees
None

Call
434-972-6241

Safe Sleep Links 

For parents:  The Safe Sleep Academy from Cribs for Kids has short videos on a range of sleep topics, including baby safety and what to expect from your baby’s ages and stages.
https://www.safesleepacademy.org/

For parents and providers:  Learn more about SIDS/SUID, access free patient education materials in a variety of languages and formats.
https://safetosleep.nichd.nih.gov/
Safe Sleep Virginia

For information on recalls of cribs,  baby seats and other infant care items:
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission


Improving Pregnancy Outcome (IPO) Workgroup

Community coalition coordinating efforts to reduce infant mortality/morbidity and associated racial disparities in the greater-Charlottesville area.

Past community collaborative projects include:

  • Baby Basics Community Education through a March of Dimes Grant
  • Creation of a Perinatal Resource Guide
  • Postpartum Depression and Anxiety training sessions for area perinatal professionals

Meetings are held quarterly via Zoom.

For more information or to join us contact Diane Sampson (diane.sampson@vdh.virginia.gov) or call 434-972-6241.

Links:
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/vdhlivewell/maternal-and-child-health-services-title-v-block-grant/

Listening to the Living project team is charged with developing local action plans to address racial disparity in maternal health and birth outcomes.
https://www.listeningtotheliving.org/