Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Protecting You and Your Environment Virginia Department of Health
Home | VDH Programs | Find It! A-Z Index | Newsroom | Administration | Jobs | Data
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter YouTube
   disclaimer

 

Training Classes


FOOD HANDLERS TRAINING

Food Handler TrainingThe Food Handler class will be held on the 4th floor located in Environmental Health at the Portsmouth Health Department. The classes will be offered on the first and third Wednesday of every month.

Morning class start at 10:00 am
Afternoon class start at 2:00 pm

Please arrive 30 minutes prior to class to register. Class will start promptly at the times listed above. No admittance once class has started. Seating is limited to class participants only!

Fee: $10.00 (Cash, check, or money order) due at registration.

The Food Handler's card is valid for two years. For more information, call (757) 393-8585, extension 8585

See 2016 pamphlet, requires Adobe Acrobat: FoodHandlersClass2016.pdf

2016 Food Handler Class Schedule

Month Days
January 6
20
February 3
17
March 2
16
April 6
20
May 4
18
June 1
15
July 6
20
August 3
17
September 7
21
October 5
19
November 2
16
December 7
21

We also have provided food handler classes online through "State Food Safety" at http://www.statefoodsafety.com/food-handler/virginia/portsmouth-city . Purchase online course for $15.  Complete course and test in less than 90 minutes.  This includes the ability to print your food handler card after completion of the course. Class is offered in full audio and visual in English, Spanish, Mandarin, Korean, Vietnamese, and American Sign.

State Food Safety Website

CERTIFIED FOOD MANAGER TRAINING

Food Handler Training

The CPFM certificate is valid for 3 years and takes the place of a Food Handler's card which is required by Portsmouth. The CPFM certificate is recognized throughout the United States.

See 2015 pamphlet, requires Adobe Acrobat: CertFoodMgrPamphlet2016.pdf

2016 Certified Professional
Food Manager Class Schedule

Month Days
February 23
25
March 22
24
April 26
28
May 24
26
June 21
23
July 26
28
August 23
25
September 27
29
October 25
27
November 8
10

CHILD RESTRAINT SAFETY SEAT INSTALLATION TRAINING

Safety Seat installation and Use ClassPic

Safety seats are available through the Low-Income Safety Seat Program. To qualify, applicant must:

• Be Medicaid or income eligible
• Be in last trimester of pregnancy or child less than 1 year of age at date of application
• Be a US Citizen or legal alien
• Be a Virginia resident
• Be foster parent or legal guardian
• Attend Safety Seat Installation and Use Class
• Sign a Release of Liability Waiver Form

Classes are held at the Portsmouth Health Department. To schedule an appointment, call 393-8585 ext. 8525.

For more information, contact Dorothelia Williams at 393-8585 ext. 8531.

Buckle up America
VDH Child Passenger Safety

 BREAST FEEDING ACTIVITIES

PicPregnant and nursing mothers are invited to attend free Breastfeeding Classes held at the Portsmouth WIC Office, 1st Floor.

  • Breastfeeding Hot Topics support group 1st Thursday of every month at 1:15 and 5:00 p.m.
  • Breastfeeding Class 2nd, 3rd and 5th Thursdays at 1:15 and 5:00 PM
  • Breastfeeding Baby Shower 4th Thursday of each month at 10:00 a.m. ~ with refreshments, games & prizes ~

For more information, please call a Breastfeeding Peer Counselor at 409-4671.

Don't forget to bring your WIC folder to receive WIC checks at class.

WIC office hours:

    • Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday 7:40 AM – 5:45 PM
    • Thursday 1:00 AM – 6:45 PM
    • Friday - closed

Last Updated: 01-06-2016

Printable Version

E-mail This Page