Trauma and Critical Care

Trauma Center Designation and COVID-19

4/4/2022

On March 12, 2020, Governor Ralph Northam declared a state of emergency in the Commonwealth of Virginia in response to the continued spread of the novel Coronavirus Disease known as COVID-19. The White House also declared COVID-19 a national emergency.

Pursuant to these emergency declarations, the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and at the direction of State Health Commissioner, the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) suspended all triennial trauma center verification visits scheduled to take place during 2020 (provisional trauma centers were excluded from the one-year extension.)

Trauma site designation and reverification reviews resumed in 2021. OEMS is grateful for the diligence, care and compassion of the hospitals and personnel on the front lines who have continued to provide excellent care through the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

Virginia Office of EMS Division of Trauma and Critical Care

The staff of this Division manages multiple programs within the Office of EMS which can be viewed by clicking on the links below:

Trauma System

Patient Care Informatics

STEMI System

Stroke System

EMS for Children

OEMS Data

Division of Trauma and Critical Care Staff

Support E-mail Address – support@vaemstcc.zendesk.com

Mindy Carter
Division Director of Trauma and Critical Care
Melinda.Carter@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Vacant
Trauma and Critical Care Manager
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Patient Care Informatics

Bryan Hodges
Patient Care Informatics System Supervisor
Jesse.Hodges@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108
Barry Reeves
Patient Care Informatics System Support Staff
Barry.Reeves@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108
Sayed Sadaat
Patient Care Informatics System Support Staff
Sayed.Sadaat@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Epidemiology

OEMS Epidemiology Team E-mail Address: epi.oems@vdh.virginia.gov

Jessica Rosner
Epidemiology Program Manager
Jessica.Rosner@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Daisy Banta
Epidemiologist
Daisy.Banta@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108