Level I Trauma Centers

Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital

HCA Chippenham Hospital

Inova Fairfax Hospital

Sentara Norfolk General Hospital

UVA Health System

VCU Health Systems


Level II Trauma Centers

Centra Lynchburg General Hospital

HCA Henrico Doctors’ Hospital

HCA Reston Hospital Center

LewisGale Medical Center

Naval Medical Center Portsmouth

MWHC Mary Washington Hospital

Riverside Regional Medical Center

Valley Health Winchester Medical Center

Virginia Hospital Center 


Level III Trauma Centers

Bon Secours Southside Medical Center

Carilion New River Valley Medical Center

Inova Loudoun Hospital

LewisGale Hospital Montgomery

Sentara Northern Virginia Medical Center

Sentara Virginia Beach General Hospital


Burn Centers

HCA Chippenham Hospital

Sentara Norfolk General Hospital

VCU Health Systems


Pediatric Trauma Centers

Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital

Childrens’ Hospital of the King’s Daughters

VCU Health Systems

In Virginia, the process of designation is entirely voluntary on the part of the hospitals. It is meant to identify those hospitals that will make a commitment to provide a higher level of care for the multiple injured patients and who welcome public acknowledgment of that capability. Knowledge of trauma care capabilities, with improved field categorization and prehospital capabilities through trauma triage plans will help all those involved in the trauma care delivery system make decisions that are in the best interest of the patient.

Virginia Trauma Center standards are based upon national standards put forth by the American College of Surgeons and the American College of Emergency Physicians. The Virginia standards are reviewed and updated based on changes in the national standards as well as the evolving needs of the Trauma System in Virginia.