In 2004 a Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) report The Use and Financing of Trauma Centers in Virginia, stated that the Virginia Trauma System faced financial burdens for two major reasons: uncompensated or undercompensated care and readiness costs. The JLARC study concluded that the 14 (then) trauma designated hospitals in Virginia were losing a combined $44 million each year.
In the 2004 General Assembly Session House Bill (HB) 1143 amended the Code of Virginia by adding section 18.2-270.01 which established the Trauma Center Fund for the Commonwealth of Virginia. This was the first step in addressing the challenges faced by Virginia’s Trauma Centers. A portion of the fee’s collected by the Commonwealth for the reinstatement of revoked or suspended drivers licenses and repeat DUI offenders are deposited into the fund.
The monies in the Trauma Fund are to be used for defraying the costs of providing emergency medical care to victims of trauma and to offset uncompensated care losses. The Appropriations Act describes uncompensated care losses as including readiness costs and clinical services incurred by providing care to uninsured trauma patients. The level of readiness required of a trauma designated hospital is unparalleled by other disciplines and is where the VDH/OEMS has focused the efforts of the Trauma Center Fund in supporting Virginia’s Trauma System. The Office of EMS oversees the management and dispersal of the Trauma Center Fund.
Trauma Fund Policies
- Trauma Fund Distribution Policy (Rev. 12/2017)
- Trauma Fund Annual Projected Use Report
- Trauma Fund Annual Actual Use Report
- Trauma Center Fund Distributions (Rev. 11/13)
Trauma Fund Annual Reports
- FY2020- Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly
- FY 2019 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly
- FY 2018 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly
- 2016 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly
- 2015 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly
- 2011 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly (Rev. 12/11)
- 2010 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly (Rev. 12/10)
- 2009 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly (Rev 11/08)
- 2008 Trauma Fund Report to the General Assembly (Rev. 12/07)
Trauma Center Fund Announcement
Gary R. Brown, Director, Office of Emergency Medical Services, Virginia Department of Health has requested that the following information be shared with Virginia’s Trauma Care community:
The Virginia Supreme Court Rule 1:24 will become effective February 1, 2017 and is intended to facilitate the payment of fines, court costs, penalties and restitution assessed against those convicted of a criminal offense or traffic infraction. The rule requires the courts to make available deferred and installment payment plans to those individuals prior to suspending their driver’s license for nonpayment.
The potential decline in driver’s license suspensions will result in decreased collections of the $145.00 reinstatement fee, of which the Trauma Fund receives $100.00. The exact fiscal impact of Rule 1:24 is unknown at this time, however we do anticipate some loss in funding. The Virginia Department of Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services and the Department of Motor Vehicles will monitor the financial impact once the ruling goes into effect on February 1, 2017 and we will keep you informed.